Bodies at the Department etit

Within the framework of academic self-governance, students, faculty, researchers and staff make important decisions together. The commitment of the elected committee members is essential for the success of the department.

The departmental council deals with matters of fundamental importance to the department. Among other things, it votes on study and examination regulations, the appointment of appointment committees and their appointment proposals, as well as on the use of funds allocated to the department, including personnel funds.

Chairman: Dean of the department

The study committee, together with the Dean of Studies, is responsible for ensuring studyability and the provision of advice and support in accordance with §1 Para. 2 TUDa Act.

Chairman: Dean of Studies of the department

Operational contact: Stephanie Bockshorn M.A.

The QSL Funds Commission decides on the allocation of the “Funds for Improving the Quality of Teaching and Study Conditions at Darmstadt University of Technology” (QSL funds).

Chairman: Dean of Studies of the department

Operational contact: Stephanie Bockshorn M.A.

The examination boards ensure compliance with the provisions of the regulations of the degree programme and the APB. They make the decisions necessary for this, unless another responsibility is justified by these APB. In addition, the examination board decides on the recognition of examinations in consultation with the responsible examiner.

  • Examination Board for Electrical Engineering and Information Technology (B.Sc. / M.Sc. / B.Ed.)
    Chairman: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Hochberger

    Speaker: Claudia Klein M.A.
  • Examination Board for Biomedical Engineering (B.Sc. / M.Sc.)
    Chairman: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Adamy

    Speaker: Melanie Herzog M.A.
  • Examination Board Information and Communication Engineering
    Chairman: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Hochberger
    Speaker: Claudia Klein M.A.

The PhD committee decides on procedural matters; in particular on admission to the doctoral procedure, on acceptance as a doctoral candidate, appoints the examination committee and appoints its chairperson, the supervisors and the referees. It also decides on the equivalence of certificates.

Chairman: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Abdelhak M. Zoubir

The habilitation committee is the examination body of the department. It decides on the admission of the applicant after receipt of the application as well as on the acceptance of the habilitation thesis after expiry of the submission deadline. After acceptance, the habilitation committee selects a topic for the habilitation lecture from the submitted topic proposals and, following the habilitation lecture and the academic discussion, decides on the result of the habilitation performance in a closed session.

Chairman: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Tran Quoc Khanh

The joint commissions decide on the examination, study and internship regulations required for the study areas. In particular, they are responsible for the accompanying evaluation and further development of the courses offered and the study structure as well as the coordination of the courses offered, the organisation of subject counselling, the orientation event and the mentoring system.

  • Joint Commission Mechatronics
    Chairman: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Uwe Klingauf

The Department etit has set up advisory groups for various areas. These groups carry out preliminary checks and prepare resolutions and decisions on issues in the respective areas.

  • Habilitation Advisory Group

The Habilitation Advisory Group is responsible for the preparation of habilitation procedures (pre-submission), for the preliminary examination of the candidate's suitability and for the recommendation to the candidate.

Chairman: Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Dr. h.c. Andreas Binder

  • Lectureships Advisory Group

The Advisory Group on Teaching Assignments is responsible for the preliminary examination of the quality of candidates for teaching assignments.

Chairman: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Klaus Hofmann

  • Resources Advisory Group

The Resources Advisory Group is responsible for preparing resolutions on resource allocation by the Dean's Office or the Departmental Council.

Chairman: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gerd Griepentrog

  • Structure Advisory Group

The Structure Advisory Group is responsible for advising on the development of the departmental structure and the strategic orientation of the department and preparing decisions relevant to this.

Chairman: Prof. Dr. Heinz Koeppl